Thursday, March 8, 2012

The finish line

So it's starting to feel like we've been doing finish work forever, but it's also beginning to finally wrap up. Our current move in date is April 1, which better work since that is now officially our last day in the apartment. I've been on vacation for the last two weeks, which wasn't so much like vacation as it was like real, actual work. Because I have kind of a lack for actual quality finish work, my role was pretty much limited to garbage girl. Unfortunately there was a lot of garbage. Fortunately I know where there is a big dumpster that may or may not be in the parking lot right behind my apt. I will deny it to the end.

I took a bunch of pictures several weeks ago and then a few more today- some things look about the same, some not so much. I'm going to try to sort by area rather than chronologically.

Stairs!!! Were finally put in this week. Jeff hired a guy off Craigslist. Can't say as I'd recommend his work, but hey, it's done. We also had our driveway paved. Now we just need a ton (or tons) of gravel. Also- anyone remember the tree fence? Here's to hoping the inspector doesn't either.

Better view of the stairs. Did someone say something about garbage?

Stairs from the top. Kinda cool, right?

Stairs in the back and everything. Also a giant mud pit. Handy for the kids.  
This was the cabinets right after they were installed, which was very exciting.
Kitchen today, which I have to say is basically the same, except the exciting thing we did today was take up all the paper protecting the floors. Nobody had seen the finished floors except for a corner here and there so this was kind of a big deal for me.

Mudroom.
View into the dining room at the start of the trim work. This was back before the paper on the floor got all ripped up.

Paper up! Trim up! The picture of the floor is fairly accurate I guess. It's brown... not too much to say.
Looking into the living room. I did a stucco finish around the fireplace.
So here's the fireplace before...

...And after. That's what I did on my vacation. Yippie. Notice how there is a bunch of junk already collecting on the bookshelves. I think there were junk magnets installed by the cabinetmakers.
Main bath.
Main bath shower.
Upstairs kid's bath. Like a dummy I managed to not get pictures post- marmoleum install. The marmo looks really nice.

Kid's shower/tub.
Master bath with all my lighting crap on it. I had to rewire a bunch of lights because I was trying to be extra-safe and it ended up being, well, unsafe. Amateurs.

Master shower. Looks remarkably like the kid's.
Laundry room. I can't wait to not pay for laundry. Sigh.
Stairs in progress. This took a while because it's pretty tricky, but very interesting to watch.

Watch for that missing stair!

All done!

Trim! This is in the basement.
That is seriously a lot of doors.

Basement floor. It's lighter than the main floor and has a lot more green- it looks really nice.

Milo has been hanging out with me this week, it's been nice to have him back. He followed me pretty much everywhere, regardless of what I was doing. Although he does have a soft spot for Steve :).

Pretty accurate representation of basement floor.
I forgot to include the sort-of newly poured porches. Last task for our concrete guy. Not sure if we were happier to see him go or if he was happier to be rid of us.
Giant mud pit that is our backyard. Anyone want some rocks?
Umm, I think I'm done. I'm tired so nothing witty to say anymore. Who wants to help us move?

Wednesday, February 15, 2012

Progress, and why building is not for the faint of heart

So here's what's happened recently: We got a lot done, and then there was this lull, or at least seemingly a lull, where the action slowed. The painters came and sprayed the inside and everything looked great, and instead of feeling depressed whenever I went to the house, I actually started to feel excited. And then this lull happened where we were just waiting, and both Jeff and I started to feel depressed again, talking about how it wasn't fun anymore (as if it ever had been), and how we were tired of being the awful apartment neighbor that everyone hates, building a house sucks, we work all the time and are still broke with no end in sight to the spending. It was kind of bad. I don't even really have an answer anymore when people ask me "How's the house coming?" except to say that there is a reason that people buy houses that you can just move into, and maybe we really should have done that instead. The sad part is, everything is pretty much coming along like it's supposed to. I just want to throw that out there, because I hear a lot of "oh, I wish I could build my own house," and I don't want to sound like some kind of bratty whiner, but I have really been done caring about the minutiae for a while but the sad fact is I can't stop caring. I don't know if anyone can, really. So if building a home is your dream, be warned.

That said, here is some of the recent progress:

We had the driveway leveled, or re-leveled, depending on who you ask. I'd like it to just stay gravel, but the city disagrees, so we'll be having concrete strips poured so at least some of the gravel look stays.
I managed to not get a picture of the garage door being a door, but it is there- and here is proof.
Drywall AND paint. In the basement.
More painted drywall. Still in the basement.
The mechanical room. That's the boiler and other stuff for the radiant floors. It's starting to look like maybe we won't be getting a primer on how all this stuff works. We got instructions for the thermostat. That's it.
Speaking of which, these are the floors. They are pretty much done- there will be another coat of sealer put on but this is more or less what they'll look like. Most are covered with paper right now.
Future stair treads.
Future trim.
Windows in the mudroom. Yay for paint!
Stairs going up.
Stairs looking down.
Windows in our bedroom. Loves. Need blinds.
Tile is progressing... slowly.
All my light parts. I spent waaay too much time on those. At some point they will actually be on the walls/ceiling. Maybe even today.



Cabinets have been delivered and will be installed starting TODAY, making it seem even more like an actual house. Flooring (upstairs) is still an issue, we have approximately 15 fans blowing and the heat cranked up to 75 to keep the humidity below 10%, as specified by the floor guy. But he deemed it close enough to actually bring the wood in the house, and if all goes well it will be in starting next week. If not, then it will be more like mid-march. Fingers crossed! Trim should be starting soon, as well as doors. And plumbing sometime? Countertops? I'm having a hard time keeping it all straight. But lots of stuff happening basically right now.

Friday, January 27, 2012

I'm behind schedule, just like everyone else

So here are some pictures. I took them weeks ago. But they're new to you, so take what you can get, I say.
This is actually an accurate view of what the outside looks like. It's pretty much done. Except for those pesky stairs. And railings. Etc.
We have all agreed that the house looks great from the back. Keep your comments to yourself, please.
The posts and support beams will be kept natural. Love me some brackets.

It's a long way up to that front door. We're working on it. I hope.










So here's where I tell you that we have drywall in and mudded. It was textured today. Tomorrow the concrete finisher will begin to work his magic (over the weekend, baby! Yeah!). And the painters are scheduled to start on Wednesday... or as soon as I pick some colors *cough*.

Regardless, let's revisit that magical time: the time that I last have captured on digital image, shall we? I will tell you that I have several hundred photos of this stage, mostly because I was trying to capture every last wire and pipe that was soon to disappear behind gypsum board forever. I won't subject you to that (and if you want to see it, it's on your own time and I will not be your tour guide). Still, I think that the just before drywall stage is my favorite.

Here's a little taste of what the rest of the house looks like here. Those red things on the floor are the radiant heat tubes. Ahhh, radiant heat....



Another view of the radiant heat tubing. And a super crappy photo of Steve and Butch the concrete guy.
Same view after concrete. Also, proof of a sunny day!
Looking into the dining room side.
Dining room.
Last one for good measure.
I can't really say when I will be able to take more photos, let alone post them, but things are going to start looking better and better from here on out. I'm still not real sure when we'll be able to move in, but let me reassure you, it will be sometime this year. Remember, it's still January. Updates to follow. Slowly.