Thursday, March 8, 2012

The finish line

So it's starting to feel like we've been doing finish work forever, but it's also beginning to finally wrap up. Our current move in date is April 1, which better work since that is now officially our last day in the apartment. I've been on vacation for the last two weeks, which wasn't so much like vacation as it was like real, actual work. Because I have kind of a lack for actual quality finish work, my role was pretty much limited to garbage girl. Unfortunately there was a lot of garbage. Fortunately I know where there is a big dumpster that may or may not be in the parking lot right behind my apt. I will deny it to the end.

I took a bunch of pictures several weeks ago and then a few more today- some things look about the same, some not so much. I'm going to try to sort by area rather than chronologically.

Stairs!!! Were finally put in this week. Jeff hired a guy off Craigslist. Can't say as I'd recommend his work, but hey, it's done. We also had our driveway paved. Now we just need a ton (or tons) of gravel. Also- anyone remember the tree fence? Here's to hoping the inspector doesn't either.

Better view of the stairs. Did someone say something about garbage?

Stairs from the top. Kinda cool, right?

Stairs in the back and everything. Also a giant mud pit. Handy for the kids.  
This was the cabinets right after they were installed, which was very exciting.
Kitchen today, which I have to say is basically the same, except the exciting thing we did today was take up all the paper protecting the floors. Nobody had seen the finished floors except for a corner here and there so this was kind of a big deal for me.

Mudroom.
View into the dining room at the start of the trim work. This was back before the paper on the floor got all ripped up.

Paper up! Trim up! The picture of the floor is fairly accurate I guess. It's brown... not too much to say.
Looking into the living room. I did a stucco finish around the fireplace.
So here's the fireplace before...

...And after. That's what I did on my vacation. Yippie. Notice how there is a bunch of junk already collecting on the bookshelves. I think there were junk magnets installed by the cabinetmakers.
Main bath.
Main bath shower.
Upstairs kid's bath. Like a dummy I managed to not get pictures post- marmoleum install. The marmo looks really nice.

Kid's shower/tub.
Master bath with all my lighting crap on it. I had to rewire a bunch of lights because I was trying to be extra-safe and it ended up being, well, unsafe. Amateurs.

Master shower. Looks remarkably like the kid's.
Laundry room. I can't wait to not pay for laundry. Sigh.
Stairs in progress. This took a while because it's pretty tricky, but very interesting to watch.

Watch for that missing stair!

All done!

Trim! This is in the basement.
That is seriously a lot of doors.

Basement floor. It's lighter than the main floor and has a lot more green- it looks really nice.

Milo has been hanging out with me this week, it's been nice to have him back. He followed me pretty much everywhere, regardless of what I was doing. Although he does have a soft spot for Steve :).

Pretty accurate representation of basement floor.
I forgot to include the sort-of newly poured porches. Last task for our concrete guy. Not sure if we were happier to see him go or if he was happier to be rid of us.
Giant mud pit that is our backyard. Anyone want some rocks?
Umm, I think I'm done. I'm tired so nothing witty to say anymore. Who wants to help us move?

No comments:

Post a Comment