Wednesday, February 15, 2012

Progress, and why building is not for the faint of heart

So here's what's happened recently: We got a lot done, and then there was this lull, or at least seemingly a lull, where the action slowed. The painters came and sprayed the inside and everything looked great, and instead of feeling depressed whenever I went to the house, I actually started to feel excited. And then this lull happened where we were just waiting, and both Jeff and I started to feel depressed again, talking about how it wasn't fun anymore (as if it ever had been), and how we were tired of being the awful apartment neighbor that everyone hates, building a house sucks, we work all the time and are still broke with no end in sight to the spending. It was kind of bad. I don't even really have an answer anymore when people ask me "How's the house coming?" except to say that there is a reason that people buy houses that you can just move into, and maybe we really should have done that instead. The sad part is, everything is pretty much coming along like it's supposed to. I just want to throw that out there, because I hear a lot of "oh, I wish I could build my own house," and I don't want to sound like some kind of bratty whiner, but I have really been done caring about the minutiae for a while but the sad fact is I can't stop caring. I don't know if anyone can, really. So if building a home is your dream, be warned.

That said, here is some of the recent progress:

We had the driveway leveled, or re-leveled, depending on who you ask. I'd like it to just stay gravel, but the city disagrees, so we'll be having concrete strips poured so at least some of the gravel look stays.
I managed to not get a picture of the garage door being a door, but it is there- and here is proof.
Drywall AND paint. In the basement.
More painted drywall. Still in the basement.
The mechanical room. That's the boiler and other stuff for the radiant floors. It's starting to look like maybe we won't be getting a primer on how all this stuff works. We got instructions for the thermostat. That's it.
Speaking of which, these are the floors. They are pretty much done- there will be another coat of sealer put on but this is more or less what they'll look like. Most are covered with paper right now.
Future stair treads.
Future trim.
Windows in the mudroom. Yay for paint!
Stairs going up.
Stairs looking down.
Windows in our bedroom. Loves. Need blinds.
Tile is progressing... slowly.
All my light parts. I spent waaay too much time on those. At some point they will actually be on the walls/ceiling. Maybe even today.



Cabinets have been delivered and will be installed starting TODAY, making it seem even more like an actual house. Flooring (upstairs) is still an issue, we have approximately 15 fans blowing and the heat cranked up to 75 to keep the humidity below 10%, as specified by the floor guy. But he deemed it close enough to actually bring the wood in the house, and if all goes well it will be in starting next week. If not, then it will be more like mid-march. Fingers crossed! Trim should be starting soon, as well as doors. And plumbing sometime? Countertops? I'm having a hard time keeping it all straight. But lots of stuff happening basically right now.

No comments:

Post a Comment